Getting Your Real Estate License in Texas
Getting your real estate license in Texas is a great way to start your career in real estate. Whether you plan to sell homes, rent out property, or invest, you need to know all the requirements to get a license. Here you will find information about the requirements, Exam, and application process. In addition, you’ll learn about the fees involved.
Requirements for obtaining a real estate license in Texas
Texas has a number of requirements for obtaining a real estate license. You must pass an exam administered by the state. There are two separate parts of the exam, the national and the state. The national section is made up of 80 questions, while the state portion is made up of 30 questions. If you fail to pass either section, you have three attempts. If you fail the test the third time, you must complete additional real estate training, usually 30 hours or more.
Texas licensees must be at least 18 years old and pass a background check. Applicants must also have completed a minimum of ninety hours of pre-license education, as well as a contract writing course. They must also pass a state exam and demonstrate good moral character. Applicants who have been convicted of a felony are ineligible to become real estate agents in Texas. They must also complete a fingerprint clearance card. Once they have successfully completed the licensing requirements, they must submit their application to the Broker online. Every two years, real estate agents must complete the required number of hours of continuing education to maintain their license.
There are 180 hours of course work required before you can take the state exam to get a Texas real estate license. Taking a pre-licensing course through a real estate training provider can help you prepare for the exam. Many people prefer Aceable, a real estate education provider that offers a high pass rate and a fee of just $185. During the course, you’ll be able to ask your instructor questions and receive live support from a licensed real estate agent.
The exam is divided into two parts. One section is national and the other state-specific. There are 80 questions on the national part and 30 on the state part. Each portion requires at least 90 minutes to complete. The national section consists of multiple choice questions. To pass the exam, you must answer more than 60 percent of the questions correctly.
Whether you’re looking to get your real estate license in Texas or you’re already licensed elsewhere, there are some things you should know before you begin the application process. First of all, you’ll have to pass the state-mandated exam to get your license. It consists of two parts: a national and state section. You’ll have 105 minutes to complete the national portion and forty minutes to complete the state portion. The state will also require you to take additional real estate training, which typically involves a 30-hour course.
If you have a criminal record, Texas will require you to pass a criminal background check. This will require you to be fingerprinted. Fortunately, there are vendors available who can take your fingerprints electronically and transmit them to the Department of Public Safety. The Department of Public Safety will then run the fingerprints against its state database and send them to the FBI for a national criminal record search.
Before you can become a real estate agent in Texas, you must successfully complete 180 hours of classes and pass a state examination. You should also choose a good broker to help you with the process. The courses you take should teach you the basics of the industry. The most common topics covered in these classes include laws, ethics, and common terms. They don’t usually cover the details of writing contracts or researching market statistics.
In Texas, the cost of obtaining a real estate license is typically between $800 and $1,300. The amount of this fee will vary depending on the real estate school you attend. You should also consider the costs of working under a broker to learn the ropes of the business. Some brokerages charge their agents a monthly fee, in exchange for office space, mentoring programs, and training.